Fierce - The Story of Olive Pink 2001


Brown's Mart Theatre, Darwin

FIERCE is an artistic adaptation of the life of the anthropologist and botanist Olive Pink who was once labelled "the fiercest white woman in captivity". It was inspired by historical and fictitious elements relating to an encounter between Miss Pink and the Warlpiri people of Lajamanu. This first European contact took place in 1942 at Thompson’s Rock Hole. Life was never to be the same. FIERCE featured the Aboriginal Women’s Dancing Group Lajamanu Yawulyu, the Grey Panthers, guest artist Trevor Patrick as Olive Pink and live music by the Arafura Ensemble.

Fierce was performed in the Festival of Darwin 22nd to 26th August.

Creative Personnel

Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
Original Music and Arrangements: Claire Kilgariff, Scott Trenwith and Merrilee Mills
Visuals: Gaye Hawkes, Matthew Mainsbridge
Warlpiri Interpreter: Annette Nampijinpa Patrick
Lighting Design and Production Manager: Sean Newton
Technical Assistants: Dan Booth, Justin Quinener, Chad Riedel
Sound Engineering: Matthew Cunliffe
Slides: Matthew Mainsbridge
Additional Text: Stephen Carleton
Costumes: Dixi Joy
Publicity: Sue Camilleri
Graphic Design: Mark Marcelis


Trevor Patrick, Nicky Fearn, Tania Lieman, Bilha Smith
Lajamanu Yawulyu Women: Molly Napurrula Tasman, Rosie Napurrula Tasman, Jeannie Napurrula Birrell, Myra Nungarrayi Herbert, Peggy Napaljarri Rockman, Alice Napaljarri Kelly, Gladys Napangardi Kelly, Maisie Kajanarra Napangardi Granites
Grey Panthers: Kath Baldwin, Adie Bruce, Kay Brown, Audrey Gorring, Bobbie Johnstone, Crena Hemmings, Barb Quinlan, Shirley Somers, Hanna Stamm, Audrey Svara, Mavis Waddell
Arafura Ensemble: Claire Kilgariff, Merrilee Mills, Bronwyn Myers, Natalie Chin, Rangaragan Parimala, Sally Crawford

Tracks 2001

Artistic Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
Office Administration: Heather Richards
Bookkeeper: Lynn Bramham
Production Manager: Eunice De Ramos
Multicultural Artist in Residence: Betchay Mondragon
Grey Panthers Coordinator: Merrilee Mills

Committee Members:  David Taylor (Chair), Jackie Wurm (Vice-Chair), Glenn Bernardin (Treasurer), Kyleigh Hindson/Rukshana Ramachandran (Secretary/Public Officer), Ken Conway, Nicole Cridland, Kay Brown, Tania Lieman (Ordinary Committee Members), David McMicken and Tim Newth (Ex-Officio Members)



Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are warned that the following pages, photographs and videos may contain images, voices, and names of deceased persons.

Further Reading

A short history of the long-term relationship between Lajamanu and Tracks Dance Company

Media Response

"An intriguing cultural exchange rarely seen in mainstream performance." Bernard Lane, The Australian


Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year