Milpirri Showing - Yinapaka 2011


Lajamanu, NT

In preparation for the 2012 Milpirri Festival Tracks ran a month long program of youth dance workshops and community consultations in Lajamanu. The workshops were led by Tracks Co Artistic Director David McMicken, with Nick Power, Caleb Japanangka Patrick and Jess Devereux. After one week of development in Darwin, workshops were held in the Lajamanu School, and in the community with assistance from the Mt Theo Program. A small showing was held at the school featuring the work created with the Champions Class group. In the evening a larger public showing was held on the basketball courts on Friday October 28 2011. Almost 200 audience members comprising of local yapa and non-indigenous residents of Lajamanu and many visitors witnessed the public showing.
Gerry Jangala Patrick opened the evening with a welcome followed by him singing and playing the boomerangs, whilst Yukihiro Doi (Master of Philosophy candidate from ANU Canberra) and Caleb Japanangka performed with an old Warlpiri instrument called kurlumpurrngu, similar to a small didgeridoo. This instrument has not been used in ceremony for over 40 years and this performance saw its resurgence. Two new dances based on bird themes created by Tracks for a group of young males and a female group was followed by the Yawulyu Women Ceremonial Dancers performing the Ngatijirri dance (Green Grass Parrot).  Nick Power, Caleb Japanangka Patrick and Jess Devereux performed a short new work and the night concluded with Chinese music student Yun Hui from the ANU playing his traditional flute (Click Goes the Shears). It was a great night with a lot of positive energy floating around.

As a result of Caleb Japanangka Patrick's work, with Tracks and within his community of Lajamanu, he was short listed for a Northern Territory Young Achievers Award for the Arts

Also see Milpirri 2005, Milpirri 2007, Milpirri 2009, Milpirri Showing,  Milpirri 2012, Milpirri Banner Project

Creative Personnel

David McMicken, Nick Power, Caleb Japanangka Patrick, Jess Devereux, Tim Newth


  • Kurlumpurrngu demonstration – song and dance
  • Males dance
  • Females Dance
  • Nick Jess and Caleb Dance
  • Yawulyu Nagatjirri dance

Thank you

Steve Jampijinpa Patrick, Jerry Jangala Patrick, Mount Theo youth program (Suzi, David and Nicki), Stuart Carter PAW Media, Wanyaka Arts Centre and Staff, Dr Jeniffer Biddel, Patrick, Roger and Patricia @ school, David Taylor, Susan Congreve, Kelly Blumberg, Gail Evans, Robert Chapman, Louisa (Warnyaka Arts Centre)

Funding Bodies

Rio Tinto Aboriginal Fund, GMAAAC (Granites Mines Affected Areas Aboriginal Corporation), Newmont Asia Pacific, Lajamanu Progress Association, Tracks is assisted by: the Commonwealth Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body; and the Northern Territory Government

Tracks 2011

Artistic Co Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
General Manager: Susan Congreve
Administrator: Gail Evans
Production Manager: Kelly Blumberg
Dance Animateur: Jessica Devereux
Bookkeeper: Caroline Voigt
Development Consultants: Michelle Silby, Suzanne Fermanis
Milpirri Executive Officer: Susan Congreve

Committee Members: (Chair) David Taylor, (Vice-Chair) Jill MacAndrew, (Treasurer) Glenn Bernardin, (Secretary/Public Officer) Michael Grant, (Ordinary Committee Members) Ken Conway, Nick Papandonakis, Joanna Barrkman, Stephanie Cvirn, (Ex-Officio Members) David McMicken and Tim Newth

Public Fund Trustees: Rev. Steve Orme, Dr Anita Toth, Paul Wan


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are warned that the following pages, photographs and videos may contain images, voices, and names of deceased persons.

Further Reading

A short history of the long-term relationship between Lajamanu and Tracks Dance Company

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year